How do I delete/make a patient inactive?

drchrono is a fully HIPAA compliant EHR.  With that being said, in order to stay HIPAA compliant we cannot delete patients in drchrono. This includes accidental duplicate patients that may have been entered into the system. You can, however, make them 'Inactive' so that they no longer appear in your patient list, but they will continue to be searchable in the event of an audit. Please follow the below steps to make a patient inactive. 

Please note: If the patient you are trying to delete is part of the sample data you can remove them by turning off the sample data under your Account tab.

1.) When logged into your drchrono account please hover your cursor over the 'Patients' tab in your menu bar.

2.) From the drop down menu please choose 'Patient list'.

3.) Select the patient for whom you would like to make inactive by choosing their chart ID to the left of their name.

4.) After you choose the chart ID for the patient it will default to the 'Important' tab once opened.

 

5.) You will see a drop down menu entitled 'Status' please click on that and choose the option you are looking for. You will be given three options to choose from and they are Active, Inactive, and Inactive - Deceased.

6.) Once you have made your selection please scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on 'Save Demographics' to lock in the changes.

 

You may want to view your inactive patients later on. To do this, please follow the steps below.

 

1.) To view your inactive patients please return to your patient list and then select 'More Filters' in the upper right of your screen.

2.) You will then see a check box at the top left of your screen entitled 'Inactive patients only', please check that box and click on the 'Select' button right above the check boxes.

3.) You will now be able to view a list of all of your inactive patients.

 

Inactive patients will only show up on the "Manage your existing Patients" screen when you select the "Show Inactive" patients box. If you would like to change a patients status back from inactive just follow the above step and choose 'Active' as their status instead of 'inactive'. 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk