Auto Allocation FAQ

Q: I have the auto-fill payments feature enabled. When are my payments auto-filled?
Our system will auto fill when it sees an insurance balance change on a line item. The auto-fill can take place within minutes from the time the insurance balance changes on a given line item.

 

Q: What auto-allocation settings are available for me and what do they mean?

Auto allocate: By default this option is not enabled, when this is enabled the DrChrono system will start auto allocating payments to line items as line items accrue insurance balance or when new payments are recorded.

Auto un-allocate: By default this option is not enabled, when this is enabled our system will un allocated payments from line items that have negative insurance balance.

Use other appointment payments: By default this option is not enabled. By default (disabled), our system only applies payments to line items tied to a specific appointment if one was specified. Enabling this feature allows payments to be used with any appointment, with preference to the one associated with the payment.

 

Q: What's the difference between auto-fill and auto-allocate?

Auto allocate automatically applies the payment to the existing line items at the time of payment. In other word the application of the payments will occur at that time and will not retroactively allocate cash to line items that are created in the future for a given appointment.

Auto allocate also allows you to apply payments to line items that do not have a patient balance yet.

Auto fill on the other hand will automatically allocate payments to line items as they are added to appointments and that have an insurance balance on them. This system runs in the background and proactively allocates payments, depending on the set up of this feature.

 

Q: Why can't I allocate money to line items in future appointments?

We currently do not allow allocation of payments to line items for appointments scheduled for the future. 

 

Q: If I'm on the new patient payments system, can I migrate back to the old version?
Unfortunately no, back migration isn't supported.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk