Set a custom session timeout for a provider | Set a custom session timeout for a staff member | Set a custom session timeout for a practice group | FAQ
We’re committed to protecting sensitive cardholder data and minimizing the risk of unauthorized access. To support Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliance, you can customize session durations to match your security preferences. You can change your session timeout from 30 to 15 minutes, which follows industry standards and best practices.
A session expiration warning appears after 10 minutes of inactivity. If you remain inactive, you will be automatically logged out five minutes after the warning appears and will have to log back in.

Set a custom timeout session for a provider
If you don't see the Timeout Session section, check with your office manager or practice group administrator. Your practice may be set up with a 15-minute session timeout at the practice group level.
- Select Account > Account Settings > Security tab.
- Under Timeout Session, select the Enable Custom Timeout Session checkbox, and then select 15 minutes.
- Select Update Entire Profile.

Set a custom session timeout for a staff member
If you don't see the Timeout Session section, check with your office manager or practice group administrator. Your practice may be set up with a 15-minute session timeout at the practice group level.
- Select Account > Staff Account Information.
- Under Timeout Session, select the Enable Custom Timeout Session checkbox, and then select 15 minutes.
- Select Save staff account.

Set a custom session timeout for a practice group
The practice group administrator or office manager can create a case to set the session timeout to 15 minutes (or revert it to 30 minutes) for your practice group.
When the 15-minute session timeout is turned on for your practice group, individual users don't see the Timeout Session section.
FAQ
Who should have the custom timeout session turned on?
We suggest decreasing the session timeout to 15 minutes for users who handle sensitive billing information, enter credit card data, or have access to stored credit card data. Users should monitor their session activity and save their work before the 15-minute time limit. If you log out and back in, you'll be redirected to the page you were on before you logged out.
Is work saved if my session times out?
DrChrono has an autosave feature for clinical notes and charting, which means your information is automatically saved if your session times out. However, we don't support autosave functionality in other areas of the system. We recommend that you finish your task or workflow before logging out of your DrChrono session to avoid losing progress.